Orangeburg County Consolidated School District Three

Skip to main content

Youth Counselors & MAPPS

Mission Statement

Orangeburg County Consolidated School District Three Medicaid Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Services is dedicated to the prevention of adolescent pregnancy through education, public awareness, advocacy, resources, group and individual counseling services.
 
Research shows that teens most at risk of prematurely becoming parents are those whose parents or siblings were/are teen parents. By using statistical data, monitoring teen pregnancy patterns, and effective program development, the Youth Program hopes to ultimately break the cycle of teen pregnancy in school district three. We strive to ensure That children are given the chance to be children before they become parents.
 
Staff
 

Thomasenia J. Hicks - Supervisor, District Office

hickst@obg3.k12.sc.us

 

Roy Brown Youth Specialist, Lake Marion High School brownr@obg3.k12.sc.us

 

Mildred Casey Youth Specialist, Holly Hill Elementary

caseym@obg3.k12.sc.us

 

Catherine Haynes - Youth Specialist, Elloree Elementary School

haynesc@obg3.k12.sc.us

 

Tira Williams  – Youth Specialist, Holly Hill Roberts Middle School williamst@obg3.k12.sc.us

 

Jarione Avinger - Youth Specialist, Vance-Providence Elementary School avingerj@obg3.k12.sc.us

 

Programs & Services

MAPPS Programs primary objectives are to prevent pregnancies, reduce school dropout rates, and increase self- sufficiency.. Any youth between the ages of 10-19 who are Medicaid eligible, unmarried, in school, and has never been a parent or pregnant are eligible to participate in the program. The MAPPS Program provides individual and group health education sessions, and other related services aimed at pregnancy prevention. The program has served over 5000 young people in our district since its inception in 1986.